Milagro Awards 2015 - Honoring Champions for Animals this October 3rd!

APNM Announces the 2015 Winners!

Ten Award Winners were selected to receive the 2015 Milagro Awards. There were many strong nominees considered by a selection committee that consisted of three APNM staff members, two APNM Board members and two members of the organization.


Join us for the 2015 Milagro Awards!

APNM’s Milagro Awards recognize individual and collaborative humanitarian acts on behalf of animals. Award winners will receive a handcrafted sterling silver medallion imprinted with the paw or footprint of an animal appropriate to the winner. Milagro medallions are designed and handcrafted by Ohkay Owingeh silversmith, Andrew García. The award ceremony guests will enjoy short videos that highlight the winners’ achievements in animal welfare, a gourmet vegan dinner, music by the UNM Jazz Quartet and a silent art auction.

The 2015 Milagro Award Winners by category are:

Senator Nancy Rodriguez, D-Santa Fe, selected for the Lawmaking Advocacy Award for her efforts in the passage of animal protection legislation.

Jojo, a 12-year-old black Labrador retriever mix, selected for the Animal Award for exceptional courage for inspiring the founding of Angela Stell’s NMDOG.

Sena Fitzpatrick, a Gallup/Four Corners animal advocate, selected for the Board of Directors’ Award for a lifelong commitment to animal rights.

Patty Mugan, shelter supervisor and transfer coordinator for the Valencia County Animal Control Division, selected for the Direct Animal Services Award for efforts that directly improve the lives of animals.

Pam Wiseman, Executive Director of the New Mexico Coalition Against Domestic Violence, selected for the Executive Director’s Award for outstanding support of APNM’s mission.

Robyn Albani, a Valencia County humane education coordinator, selected for the Humane Education Award for innovative classroom efforts.

Mary Katherine Ray, a wildlife protection advocate, selected for the Humane Citizen Award for her efforts as a private citizen to promote the humane treatment of animals.

Ruben Lucero, a former animal control officer for Isleta Pueblo, selected for the Law Enforcement Award for commitment to enforcement of laws that protect animals.

Maryln Zahler, former Vice President of the Board of Directors for the Humane Society of Southern New Mexico, selected for the Mary Jane Garcia Champion for Animals Award for exceptional leadership in working for positive change for animals.

Jenny Rabinowitz, a social worker and host of KSFR-FM’s “Animal Talk” program, selected for the Media Award for spotlighting animal issues.

The 2015 Milagro Awards are open to the public. Tickets are on sale online at or by calling (505) 265-2322, ext. 32.

Businesses and individuals can sponsor 2015 Milagro Awards by becoming an underwriter for this unique event. Show your support for New Mexico’s heroes for the animals by sponsoring a winner. You can also underwrite the printed program for the event and advertise your business prominently. There are many other sponsorship and advertising opportunities available. Find out more by downloading our Sponsorship Commitment Form here.

The 2015 Milagro Awards is on October 3rd at the Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort and Spa. Individual tickets are $100.




Follow Us and Stay Connected
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Pinterest

Subscribe to the APNM Mailing List

Join the APNM mailing list and get the latest updates delivered straight to your inbox.

Get Involved - Volunteering, internships and more