APNM’s Vegan Dining Guide is now available in a new interactive format. You can now use the search bar to locate plant-based options in your area using the city dropdown menu, or you can use the search bar to find something more specific. Try entering something like “pizza” or “sushi” into the search bar. You can still download the guide (or a portion of the guide based on your search) by clicking the “Download Resources” button.
CLICK HERE to access the new and improved Dining Guide website.
We hope this guide will help make it easier and enjoyable for you to explore the wide range of local and international cuisines right here in New Mexico that are healthful, delicious, do not involve cruelty to animals, and minimize the destruction of our precious planet.
The restaurants in this guide are listed by city, and separated into the following categories:
- Vegan: these restaurants only offer vegan foods, desserts, drinks, etc., and do not serve any meat, dairy, egg, etc.
- Vegetarian: These restaurants do not serve any meat, but may serve dairy, egg, honey, and other animal products. These restaurants usually offer at least a few vegan options, and often times many of their menu items can be veganized.
- Vegetarian Options: These restaurants serve meat and other animal products, but offer at least 2 or more vegan options (or vegetarian options that are easily veganized) not including sides or side salads.
This edition of APNM’s New Mexico Vegan Dining Guide is by no means inclusive of all restaurants offering plant-based fare, but we hope that we’ve included your favorite restaurants offering plant-based options. If you notice something we missed or have suggested edits, please let us know so we can keep our guides up-to-date.
NOTE: Many restaurant staff do not have a clear understanding of what it means to be vegan, vegetarian, and/or plant-based. If the menu isn’t specific, it’s always best to inquire about each dish whether it contains animal products including egg, milk, broth, lard, gelatin, honey, etc. Common examples of foods that may surprisingly contain animal-based ingredients are soups, flavored rice, beans, chile, and baked goods. Additional menu items containing meat, eggs or dairy products can often be prepared without them, and most restaurants are willing to prepare plant-based dishes if you ask (for example, substituting tofu, beans or grilled vegetables instead of meat or cheese).
Don’t forget to let the restaurant manager know you visited their establishment because of their plant-based options!